Monday, September 19, 2011

14 MPs head to Phnom Penh for ASEAN meeting

SINGAPORE: The outgoing Speaker of Parliament, Mr Abdullah Tarmugi, is leading a delegation of 14 Members of Parliament (MPs) to Phnom Penh, Cambodia for an ASEAN inter-parliamentary meeting.

The team at the 32nd ASEAN Inter-Parliamentary Assembly General Assembly from September 18-24 includes 13 People's Action Party (PAP) MPs and one member of the opposition.
By Ambiga Raju | Posted: 19 September 2011

The PAP MPs are Dr Teo Ho Pin, Mr Charles Chong, Ms Penny Low, Mr Zainudin Nordin, Mr Lim Biow Chuan, Ms Ellen Lee, Dr Lim Wee Kiak, Ms Denise Phua, Mr Ang Wei Neng, Mr Sitoh Yih Pin, Ms Tin Pei Ling, Mr Edwin Tong and Mr Zainal Bin Sapari.

Ms Sylvia Lim of the Workers' Party is also in the delegation.

The meeting will discuss political, economic, social and gender issues affecting ASEAN.

The delegates will also be holding dialogue meetings with parliamentarians from observer countries, Australia, Canada, China, the European Parliament, India, Japan, Republic of Korea, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea and Russian Federation.

- CNA/cc

No comments: